Tags

, , , ,

My husband and I attend a small Presbyterian church in our area. For the past year, I have taught the 3–7-year-old Children’s Sunday School class. During this time, I have felt a mild panic almost every time Sunday rolls around because I have a few students with picky tastes about their Sunday School crafts. While most students feel content to color and listen to a Bible story, the rest become easily bored. As I used to juggle college courses and a work schedule and now work as a full-time employee, I found it difficult to find crafts requiring little prep time. We also combine the Sunday School classes in the summer time because fewer kids show up. So, I have to find crafts to work for kids ranging in age from 3 to 12.

A few Sundays ago, Pinterest came to my rescue! I had pinned this tutorial weeks ago on  how to make owls out of toilet paper rolls without actually intending to make them. However, I have this mindset: if I don’t pin it, I will want to do it someday and not know where I saw it on the vastness of the Internet. So, I tend to collect tutorials on Pinterest. While I attended a game night one week, the conversation turned to crafts kids can make out of toilet paper/paper towel tubes. I remembered a tutorial I had pinned where a woman had made owls out of toilet paper rolls with her kids.

When I got home, I decided to look up the tutorial. Since I have a limited amount of time with the kids in my class, we made ours by gluing scrapbook paper to the rolls instead of painting them. This allowed the kids to each make at least two owls while I read them a couple of stories about the wisdom of Solomon. All of the children enjoyed this craft, even the older ones! They showed off their owls as they found their parents after the class. I also had fun helping them cut out the little wings and beaks. In the future, I will keep an eye out for more crafts to use for my class.

Here is a family of owls I made out of toilet paper tubes to put on a gift basket.

For the full tutorial on how to make owls out of toilet paper tubes, see the Fresh and Fun blog.

