12342558_808724899238086_7843318570402503360_nAround ten months ago, I signed up to sell jewelry with Premier Designs, Inc. We needed a little extra income, and I became interested in the company when I went to a friend’s jewelry show. My hubby made me line up seven shows before taking the plunge to sign up. I managed to make those arrangements and paid the company my sign-up fee.

Everything went smoothly for the first couple of months. I reached my first sales goal and made back my start up costs. Then, I started to run out of friends to ask to host shows. I didn’t get bookings from my shows. Summer arrived, and everyone became very busy. I went to a training and improved my general show, but I still had a problem getting bookings.

I also ran up against one of my shortcomings: calling people on the phone. I detest calling people on the phone. I prefer texting, Facebook messaging, and hunting people down in person. If someone is not on speed dial, I will exhaust all other methods of communication before calling a person. I don’t know exactly how this came about, but I have accepted this as part of me. This shortcoming makes direct sales extremely difficult.

Direct sales businesses also come with a lot of stuff (catalogs, receipts, inventory, etc.). Since hubby and I have tried to minimize our possessions, this has felt like a step back. I also felt tempted to order any piece of jewelry I found appealing because people prefer pieces of jewelry they can touch, see, and try on. When I decided to quit the direct sales business a few weeks ago, I had more than 30 pieces of inventory. I have decided to keep six or seven of my favorite pieces and sell the rest.

I did enjoy the jewelry parties where I presented. It felt good to help my friends earn free jewelry. I liked challenging myself to step out of my comfort zone a bit and try something new. Premier Designs has a good model for its jewelers, and I would recommend the company to anyone interested in trying out a direct sales business.

