Tags

, , ,

I know this post is long overdue. I keep posting later and later in the month about my pick for the 2016 Reading Challenge. One reason for the delay: my friends and I meet on the first Tuesday of the month to discuss our picks for the previous month’s category and select the next category. Another reason: I’m in the first trimester of pregnancy and haven’t had much leftover energy to devote to my blog. I do plan on trying to keep up with my capsule wardrobe and reading challenge posts. Enough rambling, here is my choice for March’s category: a book which intimidates you.

LeaguesI chose to read 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne. I don’t remember how I heard about this book nor why exactly it intimidated me. At some point in time, I got it in my head it would be a difficult book to get through. I always meant to read the book and even bought a copy of it a few months ago. When one of my friends chose the intimidation category, I thought 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea would make a good choice.

During the first few chapters, I did not understand why I thought this book would be difficult to get through. Eventually, I began to feel bogged down by all of the details (specifically: the names of all the sea creatures they encountered on their journey). They distracted me from the story. The dates also confused me. They were wrong in some places. For example: saying something happened in March then going back to February. I originally thought it was just a typo, but I ran into other places where the dates got mixed up.

Overall, I enjoyed the plot and general story. Professor Aronnax and his companions experience wonders most of us can barely dream about, such as a submarine voyage around the world, walking on the ocean floor, encountering sea monsters, and visiting the lost city of Atlantis. Captain Nemo presents an elegant enigma to speculate about throughout the novel. I was a little disappointed with the ending as I usually am when the author leaves the fate of some of his characters up to the reader. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys book about world travel.

The books my friends read for this category include:

  • Paradise Lost by John Milton
  • War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
  • The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner

This is part 3 of a 12 part series. Part 1. Part 2.

