Hubby and I celebrated our fifth wedding anniversary last week. On our date the previous weekend, we asked each other several fun questions to reflect on our years together. One thing hubby mentioned is missing my alfredo dish. I made it for him very frequently in the early stages of our relationship. My lactose intolerance has gotten worse over the years, so I haven’t made alfredo in years.

Well, I finally decided to try finding a dairy free option. After a brief search on Pinterest, I came across this recipe and this recipe. I started with the first recipe, incorporated some things from the second one, and added a few things of my own. Here’s the finished recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3 medium potatoes
  • 1 cup milk of choice (I used almond)
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp basil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 16 oz pasta of choice

Instructions

  1. Peal and chop potatoes. Put them in a sauce pan, cover with water, and place on stove at medium heat.
  2. Once potatoes start to boil, start heating water in another pan for pasta.
  3. Drain potatoes once very tender.
  4. Saute garlic in olive oil.
  5. Mash potatoes.
  6. Add milk, garlic, basil, salt and pepper (to taste) to your potatoes. Mash some more. (You can also combine steps 5 and 6 by putting everything in a blender.)
  7. Pour sauce over drained, cooked pasta.
  8. Enjoy!

Hubby really enjoyed this meal. I added some parmesan cheese to his portion of the pasta. You can also add sauteed onions or onion powder to the sauce, but we don’t care for it. I foresee making this in the future with some sort of chicken.

