Tags

, , , ,

Earlier this week, I finally managed to read The Life-Changing Magic Of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. I originally wanted to read it last year, but my attempts to get it from our library always failed. I didn’t want to pay to read it, so I scratched it off my to be read list. Well, I found a copy in a box of books I listed for our book flipping business. I managed to read it in about 48 hours.

KonMariFor those of you unfamiliar with the book, here is the description on the back of the book: “Despite constant efforts to declutter your home, do papers still accumulate like snowdrifts and clothes pile up like a tangled mess of noodles?

“Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you’ll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever. The KonMari Method, with its revolutionary category-by-category system, leads to lasting results. In fact, none of Kondo’s clients have lapsed (and she still has a three-month waiting list).

“With detailed guidance for determining which items in your house “spark joy” (and which don’t), this international bestseller featuring Tokyo’s newest lifestyle phenomenon will help you clear your clutter and enjoy the unique magic of a tidy home—and the calm, motivated mindset it can inspire.”

While I can see the merit of the “KonMari” method and how the author came up with it, I disagree with her Pocahontas attitude in thinking inanimate objects contribute to the energy around us. I do plan on trying to do a large purge using the order and category method suggested in the book. (Maybe this will help make room for baby #2.) I also see the benefit of touching every item when deciding what to discard. When I actually have to take all of my books off my shelves or clothes out of my closet, I’m more likely to get rid of more things than if I had just done a quick glance at what I have to choose things to discard.

One thing I found missing in this book is how to work around the people I live with. Since my son is not quite two, I can still get away with decluttering for him. However, this won’t be the case for too much longer. Several items in my home also belong to hubby. It’s difficult to find time to go through things together, and I stay motivated to tackle decluttering tasks for much longer than he does. Since Ms. Kondo is not currently married, I understand why this aspect of decluttering is mostly missing from her book. (She does devote some pages encouraging readers to only concentrate on their stuff and to ignore other people’s belongings.)

I  would definitely recommend this book to anyone willing to do a large purge. In order for the “KonMari” method to work for people, they have to be willing to put in the time and work to go through all of their possessions. This process can take weeks, months, or even years to finish.

