My book club met later in the month this time around, so I haven’t procrastinated writing this post too much. We had a small group this time around due to busy schedules and computer problems for our member who moved to Texas. In the spirit of back to school season, we read “a book you should have read in school.” For this category, I chose to read The Giver by Lois Lowry.

The GiverHere is the synopsis on Amazon: “The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community.”

I read this book quickly and mostly enjoyed it. I think Lowry did a decent job showing how a utopian society usually ends up being a dystopian one. In order to acheive the ideals the founders set up, sacrifies have to be made. In this case, in order to stop war, hunger, pain, etc., the people in Jonas’ community gave up intense feelings (including love, joy, and hate), color, music, and several other things. I didn’t like the the way the book ended. I later found out Lowry wrote three other books and I could find out more about what happened to Jonas, but I just don’t want to dedicate the time to read them right now.

The books my friends read for this category include:

  • The Confessions of Saint Augustine by Saint Augustine
  • As You Like It by William Shakespeare
