Tags

, , ,

I can hardly believe October is almost here. Some life changes and disappointments have distracted me from writing blog posts. For August, one of my friends chose “a book you’ve been meaning to read” as the category for us to discuss. I actually read three books for this category: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany; Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson; and The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson.

cursed-childHere is the summary for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child on Amazon: “It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

“While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.”

I did not enjoy this book as much as I expected I would, probably due to the play format of the book. I have a difficult time reading plays when I haven’t seen them before. Maybe I would enjoy this book more if I saw the play, which isn’t likely to happen.

I also felt like this story did not quite fit with the rest of the Harry Potter universe. For example: I doubt Hermione would have become Minister of Magic at such a young age. All of the other ministers we know of have been much older. I also doubt Harry and company would have called Headmistress McGonagall “Minerva.” It seems much too forward of them.

Overall, the book was OK. I’m glad I read it. For no other reason, now I can participate in conversations about the book and stop covering my ears every time someone brings it up. I would recommend it to anyone who really enjoyed the original seven books.

bandsI also read Shadows of Self and The Bands of Mourning by Brandon Sanderson. These are the two most recent additions to Sanderson’s Mistborn series. I actually read these back to back. I enjoyed The Bands of Mourning more than Shadows of Self because it moved the plot along a lot more than the latter. The Bands of Mourning also introduced some new technology, which I really enjoyed. Both books worked on building the supporting characters and didn’t focus quite so much on Wax. (I’m comparing these to The Alloy of the Law.)

I would recommend these books to anyone who enjoys sci-fi/fantasy with an industrial era twist. The first set of Mistborn books are also good.

Books my friends chose for this category include:

  • Orthodoxy by G. K. Chesterton
  • The Girl Who Fell from the Sky by Heidi Durrow
  • Son of the Black Sword by Larry Correia
