Baby #2 is due to arrive sometime in the next month. Since I like to plan ahead, I have already packed my bags for the big event. I plan on taking two bags with me to the hospital: one for the baby and one for hubby and me to share. This time around, hubby will probably spend more time at home with our older child and not all of his time at the hospital. He won’t need as much as he did with our first child.

Baby’s bag:

  • Fox hat
  • Blue hat
  • Lightweight swaddle
  • Fleece swaddle
  • Light sleeper (newborn)
  • Fleece sleeper (0-3 months)
  • Receiving blanket
  • Big brother present
  • Little brother present

The weather can be a little unpredictable at this time of year in the Midwest, so I packed one set of things for warmer weather and one set for cold weather. I also have a car seat cover I will keep in the car in case we need it for the ride home. I decided to include presents for the boys to exchange when they meet for the first time. My hospital provides diapers, wipes, clothes, etc. for the duration of our stay, so I only needed to pack things for the trip home.

Carry-on bag:

  • Change of clothes for hubby
  • Travel deodorant for hubby
  • Snacks for hubby
  • Toothbrushes
  • Toothpaste
  • Going home outfit for me
  • Hair brush
  • Comb
  • Deodorant
  • Chapstick
  • Nursing pads
  • Slippers (hospital floors are gross, and I want something I can slip on and off)
  • Tablet (loaded with ebooks)
  • Camera & charger
  • Phone charger
  • Liquid stool softener

My hospital provides most toiletry items, so I don’t need to pack much. The liquid stool softener is completely optional. I have a hard time swallowing pills, and the hospital didn’t have a liquid option for me last time around. I decided to pack my own. I also didn’t like the hospital socks last time around. They made my feet way too hot. My hospital does not provide meals for hubby, so I packed him some snacks to have while at the hospital. I will also grab my boppy to take along to the hospital. Since my chances of having another c-section are 50/50, I really wanted to have a nursing pillow to take with me to the hospital. This helps keep the baby from putting pressure on my incision. It has also been a little while since I have had to hold a baby for long stretches of time.

I could have fit everything in one bag. In fact, I currently have baby’s bag inside my carry on. I wanted to make sure I had room for the things the hospital will send home with me (such as an open package of diapers, wipes, leftover pads, etc.) This is all I have decided to pack in my bags. Let me know if you think I forgot anything important. As I said before, my hospital is great about providing most things I will need for the duration of my stay.

