Tags

Confession: I didn’t actually read a book for this month’s category. One of my friends chose “a book you have previously abandoned.” Since I had expected to welcome baby #2 by now, I did not really feel up to picking up a book I had abandoned. I usually give up on a book for good reasons. I did almost give up on finishing Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo at the beginning of October. I picked it up out of curiosity at a book sale because I have seen things about it pop up on the internet.

Here is Amazon’s description: “It begins, as the best superhero stories do, with a tragic accident that has unexpected consequences. The squirrel never saw the vacuum cleaner coming, but self-described cynic Flora Belle Buckman, who has read every issue of the comic book Terrible Things Can Happen to You!, is just the right person to step in and save him. What neither can predict is that Ulysses (the squirrel) has been born anew, with powers of strength, flight, and misspelled poetry — and that Flora will be changed too, as she discovers the possibility of hope and the promise of a capacious heart.”

I think I lost interest in it because some things just hit a little too close to home for me. My parents separated, divorced, and remarried during my elementary school years. In the book, Flora’s parents are also divorced in the book. It just reminded me too much of a time in my life I don’t like to dwell on, but I managed to push through and finish the book.

Books my friends chose include:

  • The Orphean Passages by Walter Wangerin
  • Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy
