Since we welcomed baby #2 almost one month ago, I wanted to write a quick post about my family’s top 10 favorite books/series for babies and toddlers. As a bookworm, I want to encourage my sons to read. I started reading to my older son when he was just a few months old. My younger son has already heard quite a few stories in his first month of life. Our favorite books, in no particular order, include:

  1. Dinosaur Roar by Paul and Henrietta Stickland. This is the first book my older son showed any interest in because the brightly colored dinosaurs on the white background are easy for infants to see. The book uses dinosaurs to teach opposites. We had to get a second copy because our first one was loved to pieces.
  2. Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle. This is another book we have read to pieces because my son requests it so much. It helped my son learn to identify farm animals and the sounds they make.
  3. How do Dinosaurs? series by Jane Yolen. We have several books from this series and have loved most of them. My husband and I have read How do Dinosaurs Say Goodnight? to put son almost every night for the past two years. He finally got tired of it recently, but he still requests other books in the series. The only book we haven’t liked in the series is How do Dinosaurs Say I Love You? These books contrast bad behavior with good behavior.
  4. Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin by Lloyd Moss. My son originally showed interest in this book because of the cats on every page spread. Recently, he has shown interest in learning the different instruments. This book also teaches counting from 1-10.
  5. Edward the Emu by Sheena Knowles. I’m not entirely sure why my toddler likes this book so much. The wording flows nicely. I think the story tries to teach children to enjoy who they are.
  6. The Bear books by Karma Wilson. Bear Snores On is probably the most well-known book in this series. We first learned of the series when we picked up Bear Stays Up For Christmas at my favorite used bookstore (yay Pete & Freddy’s Pages Aplenty). These wonderful books have beautiful illustrations and teach about friendship.
  7. Doggies by Sandra Boyton. This book can get a bit repetitive, but my son loves the different dog noises. It also teaches counting 1-10. Sandra Boyton has written and illustrated other good books. This one just happens to be our current favorite.
  8. Spot series by Eric Hill. Any parent of a ticket has learned to appreciate a good flap book. My son loves these books. They are expensive online, but we have found some at yard sales and such.
  9. Llama llama series by Anna Dewdney. These books are a lot of fun to read. We currently have Llama Llama Misses Mama and Llama Llama Time to Share.
  10. Penguin by Polly Dunbar. This is another book I picked up at our local bookstore. I like the colorful illustrations on the white background. This book teaches kids things don’t airways go they’re way.
