My Facebook activity has decreased during the past couple of years, especially my commenting on other people’s posts. I have a few good reasons for this:

  1. Fewer notifications. I usually don’t like getting several notifications a day on the same post. There are some exceptions to this: fun pun competitions with my friends, answering questions about life updates (how my boys are doing, our house hunt, etc.), and answering questions about logistics (where to meet, when to meet, etc.).
  2. Avoiding conversation. Sometimes, an introvert just doesn’t want to have a conversation on a Facebook post.
  3. Avoiding confrontation. This one goes along with #2. Facebook has become a politically charged place. People post things to state their opinions or start a conversation and the comments becomes a heated debate. I can easily get caught up in a Facebook debate, which makes me edgy and irritable for days. I have found it is better for my own emotional health to stay out of Facebook debates.

I could go on about the negative aspects of Facebook, but I don’t want to get myself tied up in knots about it. I have thought about deleting my account or taking a break. My husband shut down his Facebook account for a while. He found the experience left him feeling a bit isolated. So, I will end by talking about the benefits of Facebook and why I keep it around.

My family is spread out all over the United States. I have been able to reconnect with some of my far-flung cousins and enjoy seeing what they post about their children, trips, events, etc. Some of my friends have moved back home since college or moved away. So, I’ve been able to keep in contact with them via Facebook. I plan on keeping Facebook.

